Best Raw Vegan “Cheesy” Kale Chip Recipe

Thanks for coming by! I haven’t posted to this blog in exactly a year thanks to my crazy life as a working mommy and now bona fide health warrior (more to come on this…I invite you to subscribe to my blog using the box to the right). I’m an avid Facebook junkie user and have gotten a multitude of requests for my kale chip recipe there; especially since posting videos of my little guys helping me make them.

A few things to know first:

  1. I have only made kale chips in a dehydrator (my all-time favorite kitchen tool, BTW). I’ve heard from others who have made them in the oven on the lowest temperature for 15 minutes, but it sounds like they can burn very easily if you don’t watch them like a hawk. For those who understand the value of raw foods, the dehydrator is the way to go.
  2. I like to make them with a raw vegan sauce. If you’re not into that sort of food already, don’t let the term scare you away…I’m not a raw vegan and think it’s super-tasty! However, you can make them more simply by skipping the sauce and drizzling them with oil (olive or melted coconut) and Himalayan or sea salt (just please never use processed table salt!) before dehydrating. That does create a whole different experience, though.
  3. The recipe is for the quantity I use to fill about 5 trays in the dehydrator – you need to have space between the trays. Mine has 10-trays – if you have a smaller dehydrator, you’ll want to reduce ingredient quantities accordingly.
  4. The sauce from this recipe also makes a great veggie dip or spread for a wrap sandwich. The yield here is about 5 cups of sauce.
  5. If you do not have a 14-cup food processor or high-speed blender, you can probably make the sauce in a standard blender by adding some water when blending, but beware that I have not tried that.
  6. I use all organic ingredients. That is obviously optional but HIGHLY recommended…please educate yourself if you aren’t already familiar with why I would suggest such a thing. Intentional Network’s Zhi3 Fusion program is the all-time greatest resource if you are looking to improve your health like I did.

So here’s the recipe:

  • 2 large bunches of curly, green kale
  • 2 cup raw cashews, (soaked minimum of 2 hours)
  • 4 red bell peppers, seeded and chopped
  • juice of 4 lemons (approx 1/2 cup of lemon juice)
  • 5 full-size carrots chopped but not peeled (Not “baby” carrots – even the organic ones are dipped in chlorine as a preservative.)
  • 1/2 cup nutritional yeast (you can find this at Mother’s Market or other health food grocer – gives the sauce coating it’s cheese flavor)
  • 2 tsp sea salt or Himalayan pink crystal salt

Prep: Soak cashews. Clean all veggies well! Remove kale leaves from fibrous stems. (Stems can be saved for juicing.)

Spin dry kale leaves if you have a salad spinner and set aside in an extra large bowl. Add all other ingredients to Vitamix (or other high-speed blender) or 14- cup food processor and puree to the most liquid consistency possible. Pour mixture onto kale leaves, toss, and massage into leaves with your hands. When thoroughly coated, transfer onto dehydrator trays lined with unbleached parchment paper or just bunch them on the dehydrator screens. (Remove a rack in between). Dehydrate at 118°. After a few hours, flip chips and turn the racks 180 degrees. They’re done after 12 hours, depending on how you lay them on the screens. The key is to leave them in until they are crispy – if they are at all soggy, they are not done!

My sauce recipe was inspired by OC raw foods chef Raya Belna. You can buy packaged raw Alive and Radiant kale chips with similar ingredients at Mother’s Market or other health food grocers, but they cost about $6 per 2oz bag (not to mention that I think mine are even tastier! ;) I just read somewhere that you can substitute some of the cashews for raw sunflower seeds which I plan to try soon!

You are invited to toy with the recipe by changing and adding other veggies like garlic, onion, etc. In fact, I alter ingredients all the time (evidenced by the rogue celery in the photo of the processor full of ingredients above), but be sure to come back and post a comment with your changes if it comes out awesome, okay??

Note for the moms: My 2 year old wouldn’t touch these for months and now loves them. My friend’s adorable little toddler loved them the first time he tasted. If at first your kids turn up their noses, promise me that you’ll ‘try, try again’, okay?? Keep offering foods nonchalantly to make them become more comfortable and familiar. If you’re looking for more tips on how to get your kids to eat real food, be sure to check out the Moms In Charge online forum.

This entry was posted in Dairy-free, Gluten-Free, Natural/Organic/Non-Toxic, Raw, Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegan and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Best Raw Vegan “Cheesy” Kale Chip Recipe

  1. Michelle’s recipe rocks! I used to HATE greens, just ask my mom! I’m addicted to these. They disappear almost immediately around here. Super healthy and super yummy. Thanks Mommy Michelle ;)

  2. MamaE says:

    I cannot believe I’m finally getting around to taking a look at your recipe, lol. Thank you for posting it btw! Do you think sometime I could come “try out” a little of yours before I attempt these on my my own? I’m the kind of person that likes to have a sample of what something should taste like before I make it. That way if it goes horribly wrong I can figure out what I did or did not do. ;-)

Leave a Reply

